The spirit of a child?

baby.JPG 

I urge you to read and respond to the following:  

Over the holiday weekend I had a discussion with a Christian brother as we both gloated over our awesome children. The conversation merged into the ever popular subject of whether life begins at conception, birth or somewhere in between. We natural progressed to the subject of abortion. This is the point where many have passionate thoughts, feelings and experiences that surface which quickly progress into a well stream of passionate dialogue. The contention was raised that the spirit of a child is breathed into him or her at birth at the drawing of their first breath, similar to God breathing life into Adam when he became a living spirit (in addition to a “viable tissue mass”). Spiritual red flags were immediately raised in my mind. 

Before I continue I should tell you that I view abortion as a medical procedure done in extreme circumstances in order to protect the life of the mother then the infant. Let me share Biblically why I believe this way, then I have a question for you: 

In Genesis 25:21,22, Rebekah conceived twins, and “the children struggled together within her.” That which was conceived was called a “child” between the conception and the birth. 

In Job 3:16 Babies that die before birth are called “infants” that never saw light. This is exactly like babies that are aborted.  

In Luke 1:43, Elizabeth addressed Mary as “the mother of my Lord” before Jesus was born. The baby leapt for joy in Mary’s womb. 

In Matthew 2:16 Herod is considered wicked because he slew the male children in Bethlehem. Luke 2:12,16 calls such children “babes.”. But Luke 1:41,44 also calls unborn children “babes,” so how can it be acceptable to kill them? 

These are just a few passages that prevent me from believing that the spirit of a child is breathed into him or her at birth and not at conception….or anywhere else along the way. But even if these passages did not exist, my spirit would still yet stir with feelings of a heavy heart for the death of these “infants”. 

Now I’d like to ask this question: If the spirit of a child is breathed into him or her at birth, then shouldn’t abortion be allowed up to the very few minutes before delivery? If not, why? For if the unborn “viable tissue mass” does not have a spirit, then what sin is being committed? If so, then shouldn’t abortion be disallowed altogether in favor of God’s command “Thou shall not murder”? 

I look forward to some Godly, respectful dialogue on this subject. 

Jim Richardson   

13 Responses

  1. Thank you

    In Jesus,
    Maria in the UK
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  2. I’m absolutely with you on all the points you raise and all the scripture you quote. There is also the quotes from the psalms where David says “you knit me together in my mother’s womb” (Ps 139) which shows God actively participating in the life he is creating for this child, not waiting for the child to be born before breathing life into him… the child in the womb was already David. There were some other verses I’d read on this topic but they slip my mind right now, anyway the ones you’ve provided I think are totally sufficient for this cause, there is no doubt in my mind at least about when a baby’s life begins. Thanks for this post 🙂

    God bless you,
    Diana

  3. Thanks for Ps. 139 Diana! That one slipped past me…..you’re right, it’s also a goodie! I strongly bleieve that if “pro-choice” Christians really thought this through, they would no longer hold to the “wisdom of this world”, which is opposed to God’s ways.

    Blessings,
    Jim

  4. I am a “pro-choice Christian” albeit I believe in limits to choice, within a month if not a few weeks of conception. I can see the point of view of pro-lifers, and can respect it even if I do not agree.

    In order to agree with the argument you make I would however have to be a literalist, and that I am not. I believe that the Bible is often metaphorical so your points don’t sway me.

    I object to your point that ” if “pro-choice” Christians really thought this through, they would no longer hold to the “wisdom of this world”, which is opposed to God’s ways.” That is assuming that Pro-choice Christians have not thought on this. It implies we are ignorant of all the facts. Sorry but no one comes to this conclusion lightly no mater what anyone might say.

    Did you not say “I look forward to some Godly, respectful dialogue on this subject. ” I don’t think that ad hominim attacks are the best way to begin a debate. Should we not stick to the facts before we start saying you “have not thought this through.” Are we debating the nature of Abortion or the nature of those that are discussing it?

  5. Bill,

    I’m sorry if you think I’m attacking you, perhaps I could have worded my comments in a different way as I DO appreciate opposing comments. 🙂 I respect the fact that you have prayed about this but still would disagree with you for these reasons:

    First, nowhere have I ever said or written that I am a Biblical literalist and do not understand why you assumed I was. If I were, then according to Psalm 36:7, God could be a bird (or chicken) and He is obviously not. I’m also confused as to how Elizabeth addressing Mary as “the mother of my Lord” is at all metaphorical (Luke 1:43).

    Second, I believe this is a SERIOUS issue, not one where we are simply debating method of baptism or which day we worship on, this is a life and death issue. Unless you can absolutely prove that the Lord condones abortion (and the passages that Diana and I posted, whether metaphorical or not, indicate otherwise), I would recommend arguing for life rather than death. Forgive my bluntness but do you realize that Jesus could have also been aborted with a procedure that you condone. Have you thought about this? Fortunately for us all, He was not!

    Further, at the risk of infuriating you further, I strongly believe that once conception occurs, a woman gives up certain rights to her body. This is akin to me giving up my body to Christ as a Christian or me giving up my body to become one flesh with my wife. Obviously society (not God’s Word) has made this decision for us legislatively, hence the phrase “wisdom of this world”.

    Finally, I pray that it’s NOT my points that sway you, but that it’s God’s Word that “sways” you. My “opinion” does not matter one bit. I do not subscribe to a Bible interpretation philosophy of subjective interpretation and pray that you or anyone else does not either.

    Blessings,

    Jim

  6. Bill,

    Sorry, I forgot to ask this: You said that you believe in limits to choice, within a month if not a few weeks of conception. May I ask again: If the spirit of a child is breathed into him or her at birth, then shouldn’t abortion be allowed up to the very few minutes before delivery? Would this not be more “theologically” consistant?

    Blessings again,
    Jim

  7. Jim, again I agree with you. Gracefully put…

    Bill, I don’t think it was Jim’s intention to offend pro-choice Christians or call them fools, but rather to invite them to meditate and pray on the scriptures he named so that potential guilt can be avoided for God’s glory. There are many serious issues which christians disagree on, but in the Bible Paul and Peter set an example for us- when Peter became part of the “wary of the uncircumcised” group, and Paul openly questioned him. That did not show Paul’s disrespect for Peter, rather his love for him.

    Disrespect on Jim’s part would be to say something “pro life Christians are fools and they don’t read the Bible, grrr its because of people like them that the church is divided today”. But I didn’t see that. I saw (and you saw) “I look forward to some Godly, respectful dialogue on this subject.”

    That’s not “come on agree with me” but “ask your questions, put forth scripture to support your stand and let God’s word win”.

    His word is truth.

    Many blessings upon you both Bill and Jim,
    Diana

  8. Thanks Diana (and Bill) and I trust that you and others will hold me accountable to this. I pray that my responses are always lead by the Spirit but am not ignorant of the fact that occasionaly Satan has a way of blinding us through our strong convictions which sometimes cause literary moments of weakness!

    Lord bless
    Jim

  9. I’m strongly opposed to abortion, although I think it should be regarded as a failure of society as a whole, not the failing of any individual woman. That means the solution must also involve mobilizing society to give pregnant women practical options. That wouldn’t eliminate abortions, but it would certainly reduce them.

    The passage from Genesis (“God breathed … Adam became a living soul”) is regarded as crucial by Jewish exegetes. They use it to measure the end of life, for example, so it comes into play in the euthanasia debate. Accordingly, Jews tend to be more accepting of abortion.

  10. Jim,

    I was a bit confused by this paragraph:

    “Before I continue I should tell you that I view abortion as a medical procedure done in extreme circumstances in order to protect the life of the mother then the infant. Let me share Biblically why I believe this way, then I have a question for you: ”

    Did you mean it: should only be done in extreme circumstances?

  11. Mark,

    Thanks for responding,

    Well, yes…that’s what I said, but perhaps I should clarify. I was specifically referring to an instance of where, for some reason an example escpaes me at the moment, the mother’s life was in jeopardy and the baby HAD to be delievered prematurely to save the life of mom. Depending on how late in the term this was, perhaps the child could survive anyway with today’s technology.

    Or, if the child had an EXTREME birth defect like being born without a brain or skull. Now I have heard of an instance of this happening. In this particular case I believe the mother delivered the child nontheless to share of few moments of bonding and touching before the baby died anyway. Very sad and extremely touching!

    In a nutshell, I would leave the “abortion” door open a crack as purley a necessary medical procedure for these one in a million set of circumstances. Other than that, it’s clear to me that God condemns it!

    Lord bless,
    Jim

    P.S.: By the way, I like your blog. 😉

  12. I’m a pro-lifer, but I believe in CHOICE–CHOICE BEFORE ABORTION IS EVER CONSIDERED AN OPTION:
    1. CHOOSE ABSTINENCE BEFORE MARRIAGE (YES, it is possible) -or-
    2. CHOOSE only to have a child when MARRIED and you can support it.
    3. Only in EXTREME cases should abortion be allowed.

    If you follow the 1st two, abortion generally shouldn’t be an issue.

  13. Tommy,

    Well put! Those who label themselves as “pro-choice” seem to forget that they had a choice whether or not to have sex in the first place.

    Blessings,

    Jim

Leave a Reply

