Pretending to be sincere!

e 

I am going through the book of Ezekiel this month and have discovered how relevant this book is to contemporary Christianity.  

Do you ever wonder what percentage of any given congregation allows Sunday’s message from the pulpit to penetrate their soul and influence their character? I would guess that it depends upon spiritual maturity and/or brokenness of Spirit. Personally, it always astounds me how the Lord is able to speak to me every Sunday in some new way through the message I hear. Could it be that the coughing, sneezing, cell phone ringing, infant howling and social idiosyncrasies have exasperated our senses and hindered our ability to focus?  

Perhaps, but I doubt it. There may be another reason:  

“So they come pretending to be sincere and sit before you listening. But they have no intention of doing what I tell them. They express love with their mouths, but their hearts seek only after money. You are very entertaining to them, like someone who sings love songs with a beautiful voice or plays fine music on an instrument. They hear what you say, but they don’t do it!” Ezekiel 33: 31-32    

Therefore, let us strive to not only be hearers of the Word but have every intention of being doers of the Word as well.   

Jim Richardson

5 Responses

  1. Excellent thoughts, Jim! I’m glad our blogging paths crossed!!

    Blessings to you and yours,
    -bill

  2. Amen! Live it out!

    In Jesus,
    Maria in the UK
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  3. Thanks for visiting my blog, and I am loving your blog so far. Ezekiel is one of my favourite books in the Bible. I think I will start reading it again soon! 🙂
    God bless you,
    Diana

  4. Good catch, Jim.

    God bless,

  5. Ezekiel is great stuff!
    some things never change for preachers, huh?
    I like your site/blog

Leave a Reply

