My salvation experience

My salvation experience took place at a Christian music concert in Seattle, Washington during the fall of 1991. The seeds of our attendance at this event had been planted in the months proceeding by Christians who came in and out of our lives in a host of circumstances. The most prominent memory is one of an individual whom I was in a Christian ‘coffee house’ musical group with. This person took the time to share the gospel with me as I struggled to reconcile some of the things she was saying campared with my doctrinally vague Catholic upbringing.

 

Shortly thereafter I began listening to a radio program called ‘The Bible answer man” with Walter Martin who passed away in 1989. I was fascinated by Dr. Martin’s knowledge of the Scriptures and his zeal for the gospel. He had a way of making the complex understandable. This link http://www.waltermartin.org/ leads to a website which is a representation of Walter’s life ministry complete with audio clips of his old programs.

Sometime during the fall of 1991, my wife and I attended a Christian concert hosted by a church in Seattle, Washington. Oddly enough my present day employer was there with us as well. The music prepared those in attendance for the message and the message penetrated our hearts. We both went forward that evening and gave our hearts and lives to Christ Jesus, never looking back. 

We were still attending a catholic church at that time but were not receiving the spiritual milk that we desperately needed. Word of a marriage conference brought us to a Nazarene church in the area. During the course of those meetings and because of the love we received, that is were we decided to become planted as new Christians. This is also where I began my ‘career’ in music ministries. I’ll never forget the very first Sunday that we attended there and the ‘culture’ shock of a protestant service versus a catholic service. It was a significant difference and at first, I actually wondered if the Lord was pleased with our decision. Imagine that, I personally had been ‘brainwashed’ for so many years into thinking that the catholic way of worship was the proper and only way to worship. Oh, the blessings we had been missing!

Fast forward to today. Since 1991, the Lord has used both of us for His kingdom and we have both continue to give our lives to Him as a reasonable sacrifice for what He did and is doing for us. Our desire remains to become a little more like Him as each day recedes into eternity and we get a little closer to being with Him forever.

Praise God for such a wonderful salvation!

 

Jim Richardson

2 Responses

  1. I have fun with, cause I discovered exactly what I used to be having a look for.
    You’ve ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a
    nice day. Bye

  2. Hello, this weekend is good for me, because this point in time i am reading
    this fantastic informative piece of writing here
    at my house.

Leave a comment